Select Page

Course Info

Teaching and Education
  • education
  • teaching

Useful Information

  • Mode of study:

    Part Time

  • Level:

    Level 5

  • Start Date

    September 2021

  • Duration:

    2 Years

  • Awarding body:

    City and Guilds

Course Overview

This programme is a recognised teaching qualification for the post-16 sector. You can become a post-16 teacher in England without a teaching qualification, but it’s a definite advantage to have one, as many employers expect them.

The Diploma in Education and Teaching (DET) – formerly known as the Diploma to Teach in the Lifelong Learning Sector (DTLLS) it is a popular route for prospective teachers who want to pursue a career in further education, or currently hold an FE teaching role and want to gain a full teaching qualification.

Our Level 5 Diploma programme typically lasts two years. We offer this programme as a part time programme, which means you can work as an unqualified further education teacher while training part-time. Typically, you will have one day of teaching on campus per week.

Career Opportunities & Further Study

You can apply for Qualified Teacher Learning and Skills (QTLS) status once you’ve successfully completed your training. Once achieved, QTLS is equivalent to Qualified Teacher Status (QTS) in England, allowing you to work as a qualified teacher in state schools. For more information about QTLS, including eligibility and registration, visit the Society for Education and Training website:

Entry Requirements

You must have achieved the following minimum requirements to be eligible to apply for Level 5 Diploma in Education and Training programme:

  • You must have access to a minimum of 100 hours of teaching experience or be working towards it.
  • You’ll need to have achieved Level 2 skills in English or mathematics, or Level 3 if you are taking units in teaching literacy or numeracy.
  • We may ask you to complete tests to demonstrate suitable levels of literacy, numeracy, and ICT skills before admission.

You must also meet some non-academic requirements, including a Disclosure and Barring Service (DBS) check, and declaration of criminal convictions.

How To Apply

Use the below link to apply for the above course.